Marcelle BB Cream… first Canadian-brand BB cream!!

Me wearing the Marcelle BB cream (cheeks, nose and chin only, none on forehead) with Chanel Poudre Universelle to set, and Shu Uemura Dome Blusher in Sunlight Peach and Chanel Joues Constraste in Espiegle on cheeks

I am super excited to be reviewing this product for you. As you know, I am a huge fan of Marcelle products (especially their Hydra-C Energizing Hydrating Gel) and I am just so excited that they are releasing a BB cream to the Canadian market: a first for a Canadian brand!

About the Marcelle BB Cream

If you don’t know what BB Creams are, then you’re in for a treat. BB Cream, or Beauty Balm (or blemish balm, or beauty base, or beblesh balm… etc, you get the point) are an uber popular base makeup product in Asia. Basically it is an all-in-one product that contains moisturizing, anti-aging, brightening, coverage and sun protection properties in one single product. You can wear this either by itself, or as a base for your foundation. Specifically, Marcelle BB Cream is available in two shades (yay!!) and features an ultra-lightweight formula leaves skin with “nothing on” feel. It is also oil free, non comedogenic, paraben free, dermatologist tested, hypo-allergenic, perfume free and is contained in an ultra-hygienic airless tube-pump. This product is suitable for any skin type. Some of the key ingredients in the Marcelle BB Cream include: Hyaluronic Acid (Improves skin elasticity, helps minimize wrinkles, hydrates); Aquaxyl (Moisturizes and helps correct imperfections); Glycerin (Hydrates); Vitamin E (Antioxidant to protect skin); Aloe Vera (Soothes & hydrates); Green Tea & Chamomile (Stimulates, reinvigorates & soothes) and Soft Focus Powders (Light-reflecting, enhance complexion).

My thoughts

I absolutely LOVE this BB cream. Even though it isn’t a true BB cream because it doesn’t have any sun protection (which is actually a major feature and benefit of the traditional BB cream). The texture is light and creamy but provides sheer to medium coverage which helps to cover any redness and my pores, as well as smooth out my skin tone. My skin is luminous and even without looking like I’m wearing any base makeup. It is also very hydrating and works well for my dehydrated Canadian winter skin.

The light shade is perfect for my NC20-25 skin tone. The finish is semi-dewy so it might be good to set it lightly with some powder, but even though it is dewy it lasts all day. I also found very minimal transfer from my skin to my glasses rim whenever I do wear glasses, which is something that is important to me (not like Jill Stuart foundation which completely transfers onto my glasses rim!). To put it simply, my skin looks flawless and luminous when wearing the Marcelle BB cream.

I definitely recommend the Marcelle BB cream if you are looking for a good base makeup product that provides natural coverage with a natural finish and also skincare properties. If you have anywhere between dry to combination skin, this product will be good for you. If you have really oily skin, you might either need an oil controlling primer, oil controlling powder or to touch up your base makeup every few hours because this product doesn’t have much oil control (but that isn’t what it’s supposed to be for anyways).

This product is already available in store wherever Marcelle is sold, priced at $22.95.

After 8 hours of wear, my skin still looks flawless!

5 thoughts on “Marcelle BB Cream… first Canadian-brand BB cream!!

  1. I like the way you said it feels like there is nothing on…I absolutely hate BB Creams that are thick and have a noticable scent. Sometimes my skin breaks into a rash and I’m forced to wash it off.

I'd love to hear your thoughts and comments!

