Review: Cellnique D’Sensi Calming & Hydrating Cream

It’s no secret that Cellnique is one of my favourite skincare brands. Hailing from South-East Asia, I’ve found most of their products to be suitable and effective on my skin. I’m very excited to share with you a couple more favourites I’ve discovered in this hidden gem that is Cellnique. This is the first of three more Cellnique products I will be reviewing in the next few days.

Just a little background on my situation now. I am trying to meet targets at work, so I have been incredibly stressed; for a couple of weeks I worked nearly 10-14 hours a day for the entire week. Then, probably due to overwork, over-stress and lack of sleep (and proper food, nutrition, etc.), I caught something and was very sick in bed for nearly a week. It’s been almost three weeks since I got sick and I am still coughing and trying to recover. These two incidents have really taken a toil on my skin, which is trying to recover from both sickness and stress. However, I have been using these Cellnique products over the past few months and I have found that it has really helped my skin recover quickly and get back to its former glory.

My skin profile: I have very dehydrated cheeks with a t-zone that gets oily. I occasionally get break-outs, usually 1-2 around that time of the month. My main skin concerns are hyper-pigmentation and dehydration in the cheek area and fine lines in the eye area. My cheeks are also sensitive and prone to redness. My ideal skincare products are ones that provide good moisture to my skin, absorb quickly and leave no left-over product sitting on top of my skin.

Cellnique D’Sensi Calming & Hydrating Cream

What it claims (from Cellnique.com): A sophisticated dual-action moisturizer with extraordinary soothing and hydrating properties. Multi-active Desensitizing Complex and Yeast Extract are infused to neutralize outbreaks of redness; provides lasting relief to enraged skin by raising skin tolerance threshold. Its exceptionally high concentration of Hyaluronic Acid and Trehalose magnifies skin hydration and reinforces skin protection barrier.

Price: $57USD for 50mL

Texture/Scent: Light gel creme light blue in colour, nearly scent-free

The good: This gel creme is so light and weightless but is still very hydrating without any residue. It does a very good job at calming the redness in my skin and I feel that it has helped to smooth out the texture as well. The packaging is weighty and feels luxe.

The bad: It takes about 2-3 minutes to absorb, which can be a hassle especially in the morning when I need to apply my base makeup right away. I was disappointed to see dimethicone on the list of ingredients, but so far I haven’t reacted to it so I will continue to use it.

Overall: I love this moisturizer! It has really helped to calm my skin. I feel that my skin is smoother, more supple and healthier now because of the D’Sensi Calming & Hydrating Cream. While I don’t think this is enough for winter climate on its own, but with a hydrating serum underneath, I was able to get perfectly balanced skin without overdoing it. By itself, it would be a very good spring/summer/autumn moisturizer. I would recommend this to everyone with dry-to-normal, normal, normal-to-combination, or sensitive skin.

Product: 18/20
Packaging: 4/5
Value: 4/5
Overall: 26/30 | A
Repurchase? Very likely

Ingredients list: Aqua (Purified Water), Glycerin, Trehalose, Methyl Gluceth-20, Celearyl Isononanoate, Dimethicone, Propylene Glycol, Glyceryl Acrylate / Acrylic Acid Copolymer, Cyclomethicone, Polyisobutene, Phenoxyethanol, Vitamin B5 (Panthenol), Isohexadecane, Cetearyl Methicone, Dimethicone, PEG-40 Stearate, Polysorbate 20, PVM/MA Copolymer, Wheat Germ (Triticum vulgare) Extract, Steareth 2, Steareth 21, Bisabolol, Olive (Olea europaea) Leaf Extract, Yeast (Saccharomyces cerevisae) Extract, Silanediol Salicylate, Fragrance, Sodium Hyaluronate, Methylisothiazolinone, Cl 42090

4 thoughts on “Review: Cellnique D’Sensi Calming & Hydrating Cream

I'd love to hear your thoughts and comments!

