Review: Kiehl’s Midnight Recovery Concentrate

Kiehl’s Midnight Recovery Concentrate is another one of their newest, most popular products, along with the Powerful Strength Line-Reducing Concentrate. These were meant to be used in conjunction with one another to get the most out of them and to yield the best results. Unfortunately I found that this product was also too heavy for me, however, my mother loved it. Because of this, I will be doing my own review as well as adding my mother’s thoughts for you (which will be highlighted in italics) as I feel it is important for you to see both of our opinions.

My skin profile: I have very dehydrated cheeks with a t-zone that gets oily. I occasionally get break-outs, usually 1-2 around that time of the month. My main skin concerns are hyper-pigmentation and dehydration in the cheek area and fine lines in the eye area. My ideal skincare products are ones that provide good moisture to my skin, absorb quickly and leave no left-over product sitting on top of my skin.

My mother’s skin profile: Currently in her late-40s, her skin is relatively wrinkle-free, with only some fine lines here and there. She has normal skin that does not break out nor dry out (meaning she can go without moisturizer and feel fine). Her main concerns are hyper-pigmentation in her cheek area, brightening sallow skin, and preventing wrinkles in her eye area.

What it claims (from Kiehls.com): This lightweight, readily-absorbed elixir effectively restores skin’s healthy appearance overnight, resulting in smoother, more radiant complexion by morning. Enriched with Squalane, a botanical lipid similar in molecular structure to natural skin lipids, Evening Primrose Oil, rich in Omega-6 Fatty Acids and Essential moisture to depleted skin. These naturally derived oils instantly penetrate the skin surface to help replenish it. Our recovery concentrate works at night when skin is most receptive to repairing itself from daily aggressors. With skin hydrated, supple and soft, rest assured you can say goodnight to tired-looking skin. Paraben Free, Fragrance Free, Mineral Oil Free

Price: $43USD/$48CAD for 30mL

Texture/Scent: Light oil

The good: I liked the scent and how it felt on my skin. My skin was smoother and softer right after I applied it. Even though this only comes in a 30mL bottle, the thing lasts FOREVER because you only need 2-3 drops at a time, which makes it extremely good value for the price. My mother enjoyed using this as well (along with the Powerful Strength Line-Reducing Concentrate). It hydrated her skin and made it soft and supple. While she didn’t notice any changes with her fine lines, she does feel that this makes her skin feel comfortable. It absorbed easily on her more mature skin.

  • Smells good
  • Skin is smoother and softer after application
  • Lasts a long time, very good value for money
  • Absorbs easily on mature skin

The bad: I felt it absorbed very slowly, and just as a personal preference I don’t like that. Also because you were only supposed to use 2 drops, I found it hard to spread on my face. If I used more, my face became greasy very fast. The dropper was also hard to use as you press down on the cap to suck up the oil and to dispense it, and as time passes, the oil seeps out making the bottle slightly oily. Every time I used it, I woke up with extra greasy skin. My mother also disliked the dropper.

  • Absorbs super slowly
  • Hard to spread on the face
  • Skin becomes greasy quickly
  • Dropper hard to use

Overall: I didn’t like this product very much as it just doesn’t absorb completely on my skin and also left it greasy. Both my mother and I found the dropper packaging hard to use. Fortunately, it made my mother’s skin very soft, supple and just very comfortable that she continues to use this religiously every night. I feel this product is probably more appropriate for people with more mature skin, perhaps ages 35+ as it will absorb better and the effects of it will be maximized. For your information, the rating below is using my mother’s experience rather than mine.

Product: 17.5/20
Packaging: 2/5
Value: 4.5/5
Overall: 23.5/30 | B+
Repurchase? Maybe

Ingredients list:

6 thoughts on “Review: Kiehl’s Midnight Recovery Concentrate

  1. I really like Midnight Recovery but then again, I have “mature” skin like your mom. Actually even more mature skin than your mom. Hahaha! I definitely agree that you are too young to be using this product.

    Thank you for the reviews (yours and your mom’s).

  2. I totally agree with your assessment. I think that I used up half of the bottle before I finally gave up on the greasiness and just gave the rest away. Plus, I don’t think that I found that there was much of a difference in my skin from using this product. 😦

  3. I just tried this product recently (26 year old asian female) and I love it! It now earns an HG status on my book. Prior to using this product, I was breaking out continuously for a few months and my skin was just not cooperating. After a few days of using this concentrate, my acne cleared up and my skin felt notably smoother. I have been using this product for almost a month and I can definitely say it improved the texture of my skin and even out my skin tone.

    On top of the concentrate, I used immortelle’s very precious cream to provide me with the moisture that I needed at night.

  4. Pingback: Featuring supplementary skincare – essence lotions, pre-serums, facial oils, eye serums, and more! | *Maddy Loves

I'd love to hear your thoughts and comments!

