Raincouver necessities… new wellies!

Vancouver is also known as Raincouver during the fall/winter/spring when it rains almost every day pretty much until April. This year has been particularly tame as we’ve jumped right into winter and skipped most of the autumn rainy periods. However this does not excuse myself as a fellow Raincouver resident to not own any rain gear.

I owned rain boots in Kingston but they didn’t last long due to me wearing them in sub-zero temperatures every day (my Uggs simply did not hold up to the snow that seemed to be perpetually melting). Both of them developed small cuts in the rubber that allowed the water to seep in. After I moved back to Vancouver, I just never thought of buying rain boots because of the amazing weather that we’ve been getting all summer long. Before I knew it, it was rainy season and I was in panic mode. I managed to hold off the purchase of rain boots by wearing my suede boots and avoiding puddles, but I knew this day had to come… so come Cyber Monday, I finally purchased them.

I purchased the Equestrian Bit Solid Black Rain Boots by Dav. I’ve been trying to avoid the farmer look so these are perfect for me. Thanks to Vonnie for sending me the link or else I would have never found them, and on sale too!

I love them, they look nothing like rain boots!

They are very nicely padded with fleece and cotton on the shaft and soles so they are warmer than normal rainboots. The problem I have though, is that they are very heavy and bulky. I also do not have big calves but these fit almost too perfectly around my calves that I wouldn’t be able to wear them with anything too thick. I didn’t have this problem with the rainboots I owned in Kingston (or with any other boots) so it means that the shaft is too narrow on these boots. I’m a size 6-8 (US) so anyone bigger than me would not be able to fit in these.

You can see Emmy Rossum wearing them, looking super stylish.

What do you think?

15 thoughts on “Raincouver necessities… new wellies!

  1. I love the buckle and simple details on it! I’m searching for rain boots too but it’s hard for me to find boots that fits around my calves, I’m very very tiny so are my calves XD I will definitely check these ones out!

  2. I love how those don’t look like your typical rubber rain boots. I usually just rotate in between my Hunters and Tretorns but something like your pair would be nice too!

  3. Love the boots! You know…I visited Van in the spring of 2010 and I bought similar types of boots just for the trip! haha. And I still love wearing them here, even if it doesn’t get nearly half as cold here than it does over there. :3

    • In the interest of full disclosure, I must add that if anyone signs up under my referral link, I get some sort of bonus points or discount for my next purchase. It’s sort of the standard protocol for most referral links, I think. Same as for beauty boxes etc. Cheers and happy weekend everyone!

  4. I’ve never owned a pair of nice rubber boots before so I’m excited for my new Davs (still in transit as we speak). I’ve only ever had Canadian Tire garden boots!

I'd love to hear your thoughts and comments!

