Review: PRIVE formule aux herbes Reparative Shampoo & Conditioner

I’ve been using these PRIVE formule aux herbes hair products for the past 2-3 month and I’m finally ready to comment on them.

PRIVE Reparative Shampoo

What it claims (from PriveProducts.com): Enriched with aloe vera and orchid, Herbal Blend #6 delivers rich moisture and silky softness to dry, damaged and chemically treated hair. This color safe formula deeply cleanses, soothes and detangles for maximum rejuvenation and repair.

Price: $21.50USD for 250mL from PriveProducts.com

Texture/Scent: Thick viscous gel-liquid, smells like cucumbers

The good: I love that it leaves my hair clean but not stripped. The scent is very comforting, but not overwhelming, which is good after a long day of work. I like the simple, minimal packaging. The bottle can be reused for other purposes after, which is good.

  • Hair is clean but not stripped
  • Comforting scent
  • Simple, reusable packaging

The bad: I find that it doesn’t foam up as well when hair is slightly greasier than usual. It is not a good grease-fighter. I also need a LOT of this when I had long hair (yes I cut mine shoulder-length, so it isn’t as bad). For the amount of product you get for the price, and the amount you need to use each time, the value is not good at all.

  • Doesn’t foam up well with greasy hair
  • Must use a lot with long hair
  • Pricey

Overall: This shampoo was designed to moisturize and repair and I agree that this is what it does perfectly. While it doesn’t cut grease, it was never meant for that purpose so I still love it for what it can do. I will recommend this product if you have dry, normal-to-dry or damaged (from perm, colouring, etc.) hair.

Product: 16/20
Packaging: 5/5
Value: 2.5/5
Overall: 23.5/30 | B-
Repurchase? Likely not

Ingredients:

Click for the conditioner (which I love) review… 

PRIVE Reparative Conditioner

What it claims (from PriveProducts.com): Enriched with rose hips and ginseng, Herbal Blend #14 delivers intense conditioning to dry, damaged and chemically treated hair. Infuses hair with weightless moisture and protects from harmful environmental elements as overall health is repaired from within.

Price: $29.00USD for 250mL from PriveProducts.com

Texture/Scent: Light, frothy creme, smells like cucumbers

The good: This product is really moisturizing without being heavy. It spreads and absorbs easily on my hair without leaving behind residue. I love that there is no silicone (that I can tell from the ingredients, please correct me if I am wrong) and even if there isn’t, I can’t feel any because my hair is never left weighed down. It is also easy to rinse out, which I also love. As with the shampoo, I like the simple, reusable packaging.

  • Moisturizing without being heavy
  • Spreads and absorbs easily
  • Does not leave residue
  • Silicone-free
  • Hair is never weighed down
  • Easy to rinse out
  • A little goes a long way
  • Simple, reusable packaging

The bad: This is one pricey conditioner! Good thing that a little goes a long way so it will last you a long time, but still, the price per volume is not that great.

  • Expensive!

Overall: I really like this product itself and what it has done for my hair. I can really tell that my hair is more moisturized, healthier and not weighed down. I like the scent, which is comforting but not overwhelming, and the packaging. The only issue is the price, which is a little outside my comfort-zone for hair products. I would recommend this product to any hair type except oily.

Product: 18.5/20
Packaging: 5/5
Value: 2/5
Overall: 25.5/30 | A
Repurchase? Maybe if I can’t find a similar performing conditioner for a cheaper price

Ingredients:

In summary…

After a few months of using these products together, I feel that my hair is heavier and not as straw-like compared to before. I especially liked the conditioner, which is moisturizing but light. I would definitely recommend the conditioner to anyone (unless they have oily hair), but I still have reservations for the shampoo.

Some more packaging photos:

2 thoughts on “Review: PRIVE formule aux herbes Reparative Shampoo & Conditioner

I'd love to hear your thoughts and comments!

