Review: Hana Shine Shield Advanced Heat Styling Therapy

After having a very good experience with the last Hana product I tested, I was super excited to try another one of their highly recommended products, the Black Label Shine Shield.

What it claims (from Misikko.com): Hana Shine Shield is the latest product in a line committed to safe, effective heat styling. Shine Shield is a thermal serum that can be used as a leave-in conditioner – lightweight and never greasy, it protects and strengthens hair whether you use it with a flat iron, hair dryer or alone. Shine Shield contains the natural magic of Jojoba oil for its superb qualities of deep moisturization, fast absorption into hair follicles and scalp, and unparalleled shimmer & shine.

Price: $29.99USD for 177mL from Misikko

Texture/Scent: Light running liquid, does not feel like oil at all and absorbs quickly into the hair. Smells FANTASTIC, like a light, fresh scent.

The good: This absorbs quickly into the hair strands and leaves my hair very soft, hydrated and bouncy without weighing it down. It smells absolutely fantastic which makes for a good night or day time treatment. I apply this after I towel dry my hair and before I use a hair dryer and hair straightener and the end results are smooth, healthy hair. There is also no greasy residue at all; my hair feels like there is nothing on it. You also only need a tiny bit for your entire head of hair.

  • Absorbs quickly
  • Hair is soft, hydrated and bouncy
  • Does not weigh hair down
  • Smells fantastic
  • Works great with blow drier and flat iron
  • No greasy residue, feels like nothing on the hair

The bad: I would like it better in a pump packaging as the pour top dispenses too much product at a time.

  • Pour top packaging dispenses too much product

Overall: I love this hair treatment. I’ve always been skeptical about hair treatments, especially anything anti-frizz, smoothing or oil based as many of them are chock full of silicones and leave my hair weighed down. This product is great because provides all of the hydration, shine, smoothing and heat protection in one while still leaving my hair bouncy and healthy. I would like it better with a pump, but it’s a small price to pay for such a great product. You only need a very little bit at a time so I can see the bottle going a long way. I recommend this product for anything with frizzy, dry hair, or anyone who uses heated styling products, or anyone who just wants a bit of extra moisture in their hair!

Product: 18/20
Packaging: 3.5/5
Value: 4/5
Overall: 25.5/30 | A
Repurchase? if I ever finish this one!

3 thoughts on “Review: Hana Shine Shield Advanced Heat Styling Therapy

  1. Hana Shine Shield is hands-down,THE BEST anti-frizz, moisture-retaining heat protectant that I have ever tried. Definitely worth every penny! I have naturally curly hair that frizzes easily in humid weather. When I flat-iron my hair with Hana Shine Shield (using my Hana ceramic flat-iron), it lasts FOR DAYS (even a week during fall/winter) before needing a bit of a touch-up, and there is no greasy, heavy residue on my hair. It’s pretty much the only thing that I need for healthy, shiny, bouncy, manageable hair, besides a good all-natural shampoo and deep conditioner. LOVE it!

I'd love to hear your thoughts and comments!

