Review: Kiehl’s Powerful Strength Line-Reducing Concentrate

Kiehl’s Powerful Strength Line-Reducing Concentrate is one of their newest, most popular products, along with the Midnight Recovery Concentrate, which I will review later. Unfortunately I found that this product was too thick and heavy for me, however, my mother absolutely loved it. Because of this, I will be doing my own review as well as adding my mother’s thoughts for you (which will be highlighted in italics) as I feel it is important for you to see both of our opinions.

My skin profile: I have very dehydrated cheeks with a t-zone that gets oily. I occasionally get break-outs, usually 1-2 around that time of the month. My main skin concerns are hyper-pigmentation and dehydration in the cheek area and fine lines in the eye area. My ideal skincare products are ones that provide good moisture to my skin, absorb quickly and leave no left-over product sitting on top of my skin.

My mother’s skin profile: Currently in her late-40s, her skin is relatively wrinkle-free, with only some fine lines here and there. She has normal skin that does not break out nor dry out (meaning she can go without moisturizer and feel fine). Her main concerns are hyper-pigmentation in her cheek area, brightening sallow skin, and preventing wrinkles in her eye area.

What it claims (from Kiehls.com): This Powerful-Strength Line-Reducing Concentrate is formulated with a high concentration of 10.5% Pure Vitamin C (L-Ascorbic Acid) known for its affinity with skin and its powerful ability to improve the appearance of skin aging. With continued use over time, this treatment has a significant and progressive effect on marionette lines around the mouth and sub-orbital wrinkles in the eye area as well as other facial lines and wrinkles. In addition, skin shows a noticeable improvement in texture and radiance.

Price: $56USD/$77CAD for 50mL

Texture/Scent: Thick creamy liquid, feels like a light silicone primer, mostly scent-free. Warms up upon contact with the skin as the Vitamin C is activated.

The good: I like the warming sensation and the nice, simple packaging, but that’s pretty much it. This has been a miracle product for my mother. Her skin has visibly brightened and her hyper-pigmentation, which are in patches on her cheeks, has visibly lightened. It also absorbs quickly on her more mature skin.

  • Nice warming sensation
  • Simple packaging
  • Visibly brightened the skin
  • Lightened hyper-pigmentation on the cheeks
  • Absorbs quickly

The bad: I felt it didn’t absorb at all, just sat on my face and felt greasy. My mother couldn’t think of any downsides, just that it’s expensive to purchase in Canada compared to the US price.

  • Did not absorb at all, skin felt greasy
  • Expensive to purchase in Canada compared to the US price

Overall: I did not like this product at all, I have no idea why it did not absorb and rather just sat on my skin, but I am very happy that my mother enjoys using this product. It has significantly improved her skin-tone and also lightened her hyper-pigmentation in her cheeks. From our experience, this product would probably be better suited for more mature skin, maybe age 35+ and can take such heavy products. For your information, the rating below is using my mother’s experience rather than mine.

Product: 19/20
Packaging: 4/5
Value: 3/5
Overall: 26/30 | A
Repurchase? Likely, probably in the US though

Ingredients list:

5 thoughts on “Review: Kiehl’s Powerful Strength Line-Reducing Concentrate

  1. I have this and I’m not sure if I like it either.. It kinda just sits on my skin and although it seems fragrance free, the oxidized smell is off-putting sometimes.. But I think I’m going to keep using it and see how it goes.

  2. Thank you for the double review. Perhaps it might suit me since I fall into your mother’s age range. The only Kiehl’s product that I have used is Midnight Recovery, which I like a lot.

I'd love to hear your thoughts and comments!

