Review: Revlon Colorstay Aqua Mineral Makeup

I’ve always refused to wear mineral foundation for reasons actually quite unknown. When I received the Colorstay Aqua Mineral Foundation from Revlon, I guess I had to try it for myself to see what all the fuss was about. I’m pretty glad I made the jump because I’m actually quite liking it!

What they claim:

NEW Colorstay Aqua™ Mineral Makeup delivers a burst of hydrating coconut water and an instant cooling sensation upon application. The result: your skin looks luminous and its texture smoother. With a shine-free formula that’s made with water, not oil, this lightweight powder gives you a fresh, flawless finish that lasts all day. Fragrance free and non-irritating.  Provides medium coverage in 8 beautiful shades, with SPF 13 protection.

Revlon Colorstay Aqua Mineral Makeup is a loose mineral foundation. It comes in a plastic jar with a screw-on lid and includes a synthetic foundation brush that clicks into place on top of the lid. You get 9.9 grams of product for about $17-18. It comes in eight different shades from Fair to Deep. The colour I received is Light Medium which is a perfect match for my NC25-ish skintone.

The powder is very light and buildable, but never cakey. The coverage is sheer and does not conceal any of my dark spots or freckles, but it does help to even out my skin and cover redness on my cheeks. I also found that my pores look smoothed out. There is visible shimmer in this powder, which may deter some people who want normally stray way from shimmer in base makeup, but the finish is matte; the shimmer is what makes it “luminous.” It contains SPF 13, which is not very high which means you will probably need to wear a sunscreen underneath. If you are wearing this out at night, the sun protection in it is enough to protect you from the lights and mild UV rays (yes there are UV rays from the lights), but won’t cause your face to be white in photographs. The first thing I noticed when applying this foundation that it feels cool on the skin, as in it feels like liquid. The concept is similar to MAC’s Magically Cool Liquid Powder in that it feels cooling on the skin.

The enclosed brush is very soft and feels great on the skin. As it is retractable, I can see myself using this as a travel foundation brush as it is so well made. The container design is also great. The holes to let the foundation out are not that big and allow for the perfect amount of powder to be released.

It wears fabulously, like I’m not wearing anything at all, it is that light! Oil control is mediocre, especially in the t-zone. After about 4 hours it pretty much disappears from my nose, so a touch up is required. On my forehead and chin, it starts to thin out by the 5th hour, but it lasts all day on my cheek area. In reality this product wasn’t meant for those with oily skin as it is a hydrating mineral foundation, but I thought to mention it anyways. I have dehydrated skin that gets oily mostly around my nose area, so I can still use this for the most part.

I like this foundation in general. I think it will be great for daytime wear when you need something that is natural and easy to apply (as you don’t need to blend it in like liquid foundation or some compact foundations), you’ll likely just need a sunscreen underneath. I like the luminous finish as it is not glittery or overwhelming. I also like that it is scent-free. The cooling touch makes it interesting to use, which is a nice touch. If you have oily or combination-oily skin, this product is not for you because of it’s lack in oil control. If you have dry-normal, normal, or normal-combination skin, then I recommend that you take a look at this.

IMG_2800

Continue reading for more face shots, packaging photos, and ingredients list.

IMG_2810
IMG_2808
IMG_2813

Packaging photos:

Ingredients:
4 thoughts on “Review: Revlon Colorstay Aqua Mineral Makeup

  1. Sounds really nice and will work great if your skin doesn’t have too many problems that need covering up, as the coverage is quite light. It definitely has a very natural finish.

  2. This looks really good! I don’t often think much of mineral foundations but I do use them whenever I don’t want to use actual liquid foundation. I used to use the Lancome one and the Bare Minerals one, but i have a feeling that the Revlon one is very similar 🙂 You look fantastic!

I'd love to hear your thoughts and comments!

