My hair care routine… all thanks to Lush!

I discovered Lush seriously for the first time when I was in the UK last year. There were Lush stores in Vancouver but it was all so mysterious to me because it looked like an apothecary inside with all the nice scents mixed in together. When I went to the UK, I packed very lightly and only brought a small travel set of shampoo and conditioner which quickly ran out. Then one weekend when we had a weekend outing to Oxford, I stumbled upon a Lush shop that was doing a super generous promotion: buy £20 of stuff and get a free Christmas set (that was left over from after Christmas). This is when I discovered my love for Lush hair care!

I use Lush Rehab shampoo whenever I wash my hair, which is twice a week (I have very colour-damaged hair, which is why I try to wash my hair as little as possible). I used Lush Coolaulin Conditioner last year (2010) from January to September, which is how long a 250mL bottle lasted me. I used Retread Conditoner this year (2011) from January to April, which is how long the 245g tub lasted me. I’m currently using American Cream conditioner.

Lush Rehab Shampoo

  • Texture & Scent: Runny liquid, kind of a jelly consistency but very runny. Smells minty
  • Price: £15.50 for 500mL in UK, $39.95 for 500mL in Canada
  • Effect: Cleans very very well, scalp feel refreshed and cleaned, no residue left over. Lathers very well!
  • Overall: My absolute HG shampoo! This gets rid of every last big of dirt, grease and grim in the hair, leaving my hair and scalp feeling clean and refreshed. I’ve gone through one 250mL bottle and am 2/3 done another 500mL bottle. You don’t need very much to get a thick lather and the bubbles will stay bubbly for a long time (500mL will last you a year!). Completely and 100% recommend!

Ingredients: Sodium Alkyl Sulfate, Carrageenan Extract, Water, Ammonium Laureth Sulphate, Cocamide MEA, Perfume, Freshly Juiced Papaya, Propylene Glycol,Fresh Pineapple Juice, Fine Sea Salt, Fresh Kiwi Juice, Fresh Mango Juice,Organic Cold Pressed Jojoba Oil , Organic Extra Virgin Olive Oil, Almond Oil,Lavender Oil, Peppermint Oil, Rosemary Oil, Juniperberry Oil, *Limonene,*Linalool, Benzyl Alcohol, Methylparaben, Propylparaben

Lush Coolaulin Conditioner (discontinued… sadly)

  • Texture & Scent: Runny milky lotion, smells like coconuts
  • Price: £11.70 for 500mL in UK, $29.95 for 500mL in Canada
  • Effect: Keeps hair moisturized but light without residue
  • Overall: I love this conditioner, which is why I was so sad when it got discontinued last year. This is very light, I believe one of the lightest of Lush’s conditioners. Because it is so light and runny, it completely absorbs into my hair, leaving it smooth and manageable, without feeling heavy or leaving residue. This is now available for a very limited time under Lush Retro! Get it NOW if you are looking for it!

Ingredients: Fresh Coconut Decoction, Water, Fresh Coconut Milk, Cetearyl Alcohol & Sodium Lauryl Sulfate, Propylene Glycol, Lanolin, Fresh Organic Lemon Juice,Vetivert Oil, Benzoin Resinoid, Styrax Resinoid, Perfume, Cetrimonium Bromide

Lush American Cream Conditioner 

  • Texture & Scent: Light whipped cream texture, becomes watery once in contact with hair, smells like synthetic cream with a hint of coconut
  • Price: £13.50 for 500mL in the UK, $29.95 for 500mL in Canada
  • Effect: Keeps hair smooth and manageable without residue
  • Overall: This is one level up in terms of heaviness compared to Coolaulin. It is thicker in texture than Coolaulin, but still absorbs almost instantly into the hair. At first I didn’t like this as much because it felt heavier and the scent was really overwhelming, but it’s growing on me. I love how it doesn’t have any silicones in it so my hair is not weighed down and there is no residue. A second choice for me in terms of conditioners from Lush (after Coolaulin).

Lush Retread Conditioner

  • Texture & Scent: Thick cream, smells like… cream. I don’t know how else to describe it
  • Price: £9.50 for 245g in the UK, $27.95 for 245g in Canada
  • Effect: Creamy, moisturizing, but too heavy
  • Overall: I used this in the dead of winter in Ontario, which is when my hair needs the most moisture. I liked how it kept my hair static free all winter, but that was pretty much it. It is moisturizing, but way too heavy and made my hair grease up more easily compared to other conditioners I’ve used (not including the drugstore stuff). I like it, but this is definitely more of a once in a while treatment compared to a regular conditioner.

Ingredients: Agar Agar Gel, Propylene Glycol, Soya Milk, Cetearyl Alcohol & Sodium Lauryl Sulfate, Fresh Cantaloupe Melon, Organic Extra Virgin Olive Oil, Perfume,Organic Yoghurt, Avocado Oil, Lanolin, Cetearyl Alcohol, Cetrimonium Bromide, Organic Jojoba Oil, Synthetic Musk, Violet Leaf Absolute, Orange Flower Absolute, Neroli Oil, Methyl Ionone, Methylparaben, Propylparaben

Overall I really enjoy using Lush hair care. I find that my hair is smoother and more manageable when I use this, compared to when I use other brands of shampoo/conditioner. I find that comparing this regime with my previous HG which was Shiseido Tsubaki Golden Repair, I still prefer Lush. The only problem I have with it is the extreme price discrepancy between the prices here and in the UK. I’m lucky that I have a cousin who helps me buy these in the UK and then bring them over for me when she visits each year, but for others it’s really inconvenient. Other than that… I LOVE LUSH!!

7 thoughts on “My hair care routine… all thanks to Lush!

  1. Sounds really nice! I haven’t ventured into Lush brand’s hair care. I oftentimes find Lush products’ scent to be quite overwhelming, as nice as they are. Hmmmm…coconut scent isn’t something that I like much, especially if it’s scented like the Hawaiian Tropics suntan lotion. Definitely will need to go to Lush to get my nose approval.

    • Hi Kat! The coconut is not artificial at all, it actually smells like real coconut, which I love. You should try it first, they’re very generous with their samples =)

  2. I love Lush hair products! I received a few free samples of their shampoo bars and I absolutely loved it so much that I purchased it! I like to mix and match my shampoos and conditioners and Lush is always in my bathroom.

  3. Pingback: Repeat customer – products I’ve purchased time and time again | *Maddy Loves

  4. Pingback: Yummy enough to eat – LUSH Rose Jam Shower Gel | *Maddy Loves

I'd love to hear your thoughts and comments!

