Review: Marcelle Hydra-C Double Action Cleansing Wipes

The Marcelle Hydra-C Double Action Cleansing Wipes is my first venture into cleansing wipes since I really got into makeup a few years ago. While I loved their 24H Energizing Hydrating Gel, this was a different story.

What it claims (from Marcelle.com): The Hydra-C cleansing cloths work twice as hard with a single flip of the cloth: the softer side cleanses while the textured side gently exfoliates. These double-action cloths are moistened with vitamin C, E and B5 and leave the skin feeling smooth and glowing with freshness. Silky soft and oil-free, taking care of your skin has never been this quick and easy!

Hypo-allergenic and perfume-free.
Ideal for all skin types.

Price: $12.50 for 25 sheets

Texture/Scent: There are two sides, one is smooth and the other is textured, a feels kind of like a sheet of mini louffa. It is mostly scent-free, but there is a faint kind of plastic scent that is not hard to ignore, so I’m just going to say it is scent-free (they don’t put perfumes in their products).

The good: This is good at removing my base makeup, eyebrow pencil, lipstick (even Chanel Rouge Allure Laque which can present problems for regular makeup remover) and pretty much everything… except one. I prefer using the smooth side because I find that the textured side is too rouge for my skin, especially if you’re going to be rubbing the sheet around to get everything off. I also find that you can use this to quickly clean your makeup brushes to prevent staining, if you get lazy and wash your brushes only once in a while. These sheets are also pretty big, so you can cover quite a bit of ground with each sheet (see photo at the end).

  • Good at removing most makeup products
  • Multipurpose
  • Scent-free
  • Big sheets

The bad: This does not remove mascara! Granted, I use Clinique High Impact Curling Mascara which is a pain to remove, but I can still remove it in the end. This product just doesn’t remove it at all, it doesn’t budge. In the end I just used good old fashioned cleansing oil to remove the left over mascara. Also if you use long-lasting liquid or gel liner, such as Dollywink Liquid Liner, it will also be somewhat hard to remove with this. Lastly, I found the first, maybe 2 sheets, of the pack was drier than the rest of them. Most of the pack is soaked in remover except the first 2-3.

  • Not good at removing hard to remove items such as mascara and eyeliner
  • First 2-3 sheets of the pack were drier than the rest, which made them pretty much useless

Overall: I like to keep a sheet of this on the side when I apply my makeup because it facilitates cleanup if I make any messes. I also use this when I am swatching makeup on my arm for easy cleanup. This is a multipurpose and easy to use, if only it doesn’t do that great of a job at removing hard to remove items, or else I would have given it  a higher score.

Product: 14/20
Packaging: 3/5
Value: 3.5/5
Overall: 20.5/30 | C+
Repurchase? No

Ingredients (these are made in France!!)

3 thoughts on “Review: Marcelle Hydra-C Double Action Cleansing Wipes

  1. Pingback: Monthly Hits & Misses: October « *Maddy Loves

I'd love to hear your thoughts and comments!

