Review: Kiehl’s Ultimate Strength Hand Salve

If you haven’t noticed, I’m somewhat of a hand product fanatic in that I love to try different types of hand cream. I like to wash my hands (kind of a germaphobe…) so my hands tend to get very dry. I use different type of hand lotions depending on the time of day, for example I use L’Occitane Shea Butter Hand Cream at night to get the thickest and richest moisture I can get. I use Kiehl’s Ultimate Strength Hand Salve when I’m on the computer as I need something that is moisturizing but not greasy.

What it claims (from Kiehls.ca): Formulated for the driest, most active hands, this heavy-duty moisture treatment is a thick, rich formula offering all-day care and protection. Our blend of select ingredients allows skin to actually draw and absorb water from the air, forming a “glove-like” protective barrier against moisture loss. This formula, which contains a blend of botanical oils as well as natural wax derived from Olive Oil, further soothes, moisturizes and conditions skin. This most effective preparation helps protect against and repair the appearance of severe dryness caused by heavy industrial work, manual labor, neglect, or exposure to harsh elements.

Price: $13USD/$18CAD for 75mL, $20USD/$27CAD for 150mL

Texture/Scent: Dense gel texture, scent-free

The good: This hand salve is unique in that it is not oil-based (it does contain some good oils, its main ingredients are not oil products). While it looks and applies thickly, it absorbs almost instantaneously into the skin without leaving any type of residue. I also feel that it is somewhat waterproof, in that if you wash your hands, it doesn’t wash off right away (unless you use soap of course). You won’t need to constantly reapply throughout the day.

  • Not oil-based
  • Absorbs instantly
  • No residue
  • Stays on the skin even through hand washes (does not need to be reapplied constantly)

The bad: The price is one of the highest I’ve seen for hand cream. The only “boutique brand” hand cream that is more expensive than this that I can think of is the L’Occitane hand products (other than the high end department store products).

  • High price

Overall: This hand salve is perfect for those who work in an environment that requires them to constantly use their hands (thus they cannot wait for their hand product to sink in). Such as if you work in an office environment where you’re handling paper files, or you’re typing, you cannot be leaving greasy hand lotion residue everywhere, which is where this product comes in. It is also perfect if you work in a fragrance-free setting, as many hand products that claim to be fragrance-free are actually not, this product really is 100% scent free.

Product: 17.5/20
Packaging: 4.5/5
Value: 3/5
Overall: 25/30 | A
Repurchase? Likely

Ingredients:

7 thoughts on “Review: Kiehl’s Ultimate Strength Hand Salve

  1. Thanks for this review! I’ve been wondering about it as I like hand creams too. My hands are almost constantly in water or touching some pesticides so it can be really drying on the hands. I like that this seems like it is waterproof. It may be the next hand cream for me to try.

  2. Thank you so much for reviewing this hand cream! I was just debating last week whether or not to get it! I’ll be heading to the mall tomorrow to pick it up 🙂

I'd love to hear your thoughts and comments!

