Drugstore Scores! Annabelle Liquid Liner & Smoothliner (Swatches/Review)

I received these Annabelle eyeliners last week and I just couldn’t wait to try them and share them with you! I have the Liquid Liner in Black Spark and the Smoothliner pencil eyeliner in Metal Daze. Black Spark is a black with sparse silver micro-glitter and Metal Daze is a black packed with silver micro-glitter.

First, the Smoothliner is one of the smoothest pencil eye liners I have ever used. It glides on effortlessly without tugging or pulling, and the pigmentation is really good: one swipe and you get a beautiful deep black line. The glitter is also pretty visible on the eyelid, which adds an extra something to the eye makeup. This dries down matte.

It is basically smudge-proof after it dries down, but as with 99% (or is it 100%?) of pencil liners, after a few hours without a primer, there was a visible black line transferred from the liner to my crease-area due to my hooded eyelids. I noticed this happened somewhat sooner than Make Up For Ever’s Aqua Eyes pencil liner, but about the same as Urban Decay 24/7 Eyeliner. At $6.50 (compared to what, $18-20 for Urban Decay?), this is a steal! The wear time is comparable to Urban Decay and MUFE and it even feels smoother and easier to apply that MUFE (which is a little drier), so I would highly, highly recommend you take a look at this if you are in the market for a good, high quality eyeliner. I would imagine that it would be quite long lasting with a primer underneath. I’m hoping that they can release a larger selection of bright colours in the future as there are seven available now.

IMG_2057

The Liquid Liner has a sponge-tip applicator that is firm and easy to draw with. I feel the colour is not as deep a black as some of the Japanese eyeliners I’ve used; Black Spark is more of a dark grey than a true black. The micro-glitter is barely visible on the eyes and the liner dries down a little shiny (does not become matte).

Wear time was very good. It lasted about 5-6 hours on me before the liner near the inner corners of my eyes started disintegrating just a little bit due to the accumulated oils on my hooded lids. I would expect that it can last through an 8-10 hour day with just a little bit of fading. Again, for the price of $7.95 I would recommend that you take a look at this liquid eyeliner.

IMG_2060

Swatches (Smoothliner on left, Liquid Liner on right):

IMG_2063
IMG_2067

Swatches on eyes (first two are Smoothliner, last two are Liquid Liner):

IMG_2078
IMG_2075
IMG_2087
IMG_2069

You can purchase Annabelle Liquid Liner at Shoppers Drug Mart, London Drugs, and at most other drug stores where Annabelle cosmetics are sold and is priced at $7.95 with five different shades available. The Smoothliner is also available where Annabelle cosmetics are sold and is priced at $6.50 with seven shades available. As with all eye products with glitter or micro-glitter, these should not be used on the waterline.

3 thoughts on “Drugstore Scores! Annabelle Liquid Liner & Smoothliner (Swatches/Review)

I'd love to hear your thoughts and comments!

