Tips & Advice for New Bloggers and people thinking of getting into blogging

I love to blog. This year, I am going into my fourth year of beauty blogging and second year under the name Maddy Loves. During my blogging experience, I have met and have gotten to known some amazing ladies, some of whom I speak to more than some of my other friends who I met through school or work. I feel the blogging community is incredibly tight and guarded sometimes, but they are more than willing to open themselves up to newcomers who are in need of a friend in cyberspace. While I do not receive millions of visitors a month, yet, I feel like I should still share my blogging experience with you and also provide some of you with some words of advice.

Reach out to your fellow bloggers! They can be your best friends when you have questions about products, brands, or just blogging know-hows. Twitter is a very easy way to meet people as you can create an instant connection when you message back and forth. Also be courteous and check out other people’s blogs as they check out yours. Commenting on other other blogs can show that you’re interested in getting to know the other person better, and that you are genuinely interested in them as a person.

Do not be afraid to approach brand or PR reps to establish that relationship. There are countless beauty and lifestyle blogs out there in cyberspace, but there may be just a few that really reflect their brand values or strategic direction, and you could be one of them. You are not being greedy or grovelling at them, you are just promoting your own brand that is your blog, and there is nothing wrong with that.

Also, don’t be afraid to reject brand or PR reps if you feel that their brand culture just does not seem to fit with where you want your blog to be. If you’re not sure about a brand, especially if you’ve never heard about them, please do a quick Google search. You should be able to find news, forum posts and other reviews by bloggers that should give you a good idea of what their brand is like and if there is anything you should be avoiding.

Promoting yourself is really important if you want to get your name out there, but make sure to do it in the right context. If you focus mostly on high-end products, then pasting your blog name and URL on a mostly drugstore product-focused forum will get you nowhere. Establish your niche and where you fit in, and then try to get people to notice you. Make the use of major social networks such as Twitter, Facebook and Google+ to help create a human behind the blog, including interacting with your readers and other bloggers.

Blogging is NOT about the free stuff. Blogging should be about sharing your love for products that you’ve used, or are interested in using. Product samples are useful because it means you won’t always be writing about the same things all the time, which can get boring. Product samples are also nice because that means I don’t have to spend my entire salary buying things just to have interesting content on my blog at all times. Product samples open blogs up to a larger, more varied audience.Blogging is a huge commitment, it can take up hours and hours of your time each day just so you can have content up there so people will come read. Of course, if you love it then the time passes quickly and it doesn’t feel like you are committing much time and effort trying to come up with interesting content, but if you don’t enjoy it, then it will feel like a huge burden and a waste of time.Some general tips for you:

  • Please remember your manners, including pleases and thank-yous. The internet does not mean manners are not applicable, rather you should use your manners to establish you as a person since the person reading your e-mails cannot see your body language or hear your voice.
  • Don’t demand anything; you are likely not going to get what you want. This is especially true if you are asking for press samples or information about their company. They do not have to give it to you, even if you are already well established.
  • Do try to maintain a long-term relationship with company or PR reps as this shows you actually care about your readers understanding their product and that you’re not just in it for the samples. This includes sending them questions of clarification of their products or brand, or just updates about yourself. Don’t bother them constantly though, maybe just one email a month or every few weeks to maintain that linkage.
Lastly, I love blogging. Even though sometimes when the daytime work hours get busy, blogging can seem like something at the bottom of your very long to-do list, blogging helps me take my mind off the realities and responsibilities in life, even for just that hour when I am writing. I really hope that this was helpful to some of you reading this. Please let me know if you have any questions or comments, or would like to share your own insights to blogging by writing a quick comment below. Thank you! 

7 thoughts on “Tips & Advice for New Bloggers and people thinking of getting into blogging

  1. Excellent post and so informative! I started blogging last year and it’s been more than a milestone for me personally. I’ve never had such a commitment to anything in my life, besides work and school. You’ve listed great tips… I don’t even know how to approach a company about anything, but I’m slowly learning the steps and getting my blog out there even though it hasn’t developed a niche in drugstore or high end. I kind of do a mix of both, which i’m not sure if that direction is good, but for now I just want to think alike with other readers through trial and error with make up or skincare. I also wanted to let you know that your blog is very inspiring and i really enjoy getting your updates in my email (total creep factor? I hope not!) 🙂

  2. I’ve always been a ghost blogger for OTHER PEOPLE, which of course, does me no good in the end. Sure I get paid immediately to ghost blog, but it doesn’t build my image or reputation. 😦 So I started my own blog, and I love it, and I love networking and being in the bloggy atmosphere. 🙂 Great post darling!

  3. This was a great post, with excellent points. I agree that blogging is hard work BUT it’s something that I enjoy and I have met wonderful, wonderful people so it’s pleasurable and relaxing for me. I’ve learned many new and exciting things from other bloggers and I hope that maybe I’ve helped someone who has read my blog too.

  4. Thanks for this post! I can really use some tips. I just started blogging very recently because I wanted to have a channel to pour my thoughts in and to share them with people, and hopefully be able to inspire and help them in some ways. It would be a big plus if I can eventually befriend and meet other bloggers, especially those whose blogs I have been reading all this time. 🙂
    Thanks for your advice!

  5. I was just seeking this info for some time. After six hours of continuous Googleing, at last I got it in your website. I wonder what’s the lack of Google strategy that don’t rank this type of informative sites in top of the list. Generally the top websites are full of garbage.

  6. Hi there~
    Thank you soooooooooo much for sharing these tips with us!
    I’ve only started blogging about my loved beauty products very recently when my love for makeup exploded and I couldn’t contain it anymore that blogging it helps to release abit of the pent-up excitement and helps me feel that my thoughts could help those who wish to be better informed before they make their purchases.
    I’m glad that I stumbled upon your posts!

    Thank you~

    FS.Rain

I'd love to hear your thoughts and comments!

