Swatches/Review: Chanel Rouge Allure Laque in 75 Dragon & 77 Santal

IMG_0729
IMG_0731

I purchased two of Chanel’s Rouge Allure Laques at London Gatwick Airport on my way to Amsterdam in February of last year. Sorry I didn’t get around to posting these until now…

What it claims (from Chanel.com): Discover in the pure indulgence of liquid lip lacquer, a colour innovation that could only come from Chanel. Intensely rich and shine lasts for hours – and the temptingly creamy formula conditions as it hydrates lips. All this, with full coverage, with eight stunning shades. 75 Dragon is an intense red with some shimmer and 77 Santal is a peach with shimmer.

Damage: £14 for 6mL at London Gatwick Airport duty free (approximately $24CAD at time of purchase). Regularly around $39CAD + tax at Chanel counters.

The good: The colour is very intense. You do not need a lot to get good colour payoff and wear time is also very good. I got about 4-5 hours of wear time with 75 Dragon before the gloss wore off but it the red was stained into my lips even through a full meal with drinks and lots of lip-licking and didn’t fully go away until maybe 8-9 hours later. It is really creamy and non-drying, but with no slip (unlike the YSL Rouge Volupte that I cannot wear at all), and like the description says it is complete, full coverage.

  • Good colour payoff
  • Creamy, non-drying
  • Very good wear time

The bad: I did not experience any problems with Santal, but with Dragon it became a little problematic. Maybe it was because it was windy that day and the odd strands of hair was blowing everywhere, or because I applied too much, but the lip colour was getting everywhere on my face. I was getting it on my cheeks (from the hair) and even my front teeth which was really embarrassing. Also because its creamy, it ran outside the contours of my lips which meant I had to “check up” on it every once in a while. Also the price high price might be an issue for some people, but honestly its a Chanel and I don’t know what you would expect in price for something like this. Personally speaking, I probably would not have gotten it if I didn’t run across it at duty free with the discounted price.

  • Colours tend to run a bit
  • High price.

Overall: The Chanel Rouge Allure Laque is housed in a ceramic/glass tube with a doe-foot applicator. The packaging is extremely sleek and luxurious. Even though I fell in love with this originally because of the beautiful red Dragon, Santal is where my heart lies. It is such a gorgeous peach that works very well with any eye combination.

Product: 18/20
Packaging: 5/5
Value: 3/5
Overall: 26/30 | A
Repurchase: Yes! I would buy Santal again and again, maybe not Dragon because I don’t often wear reds on my lips.

IMG_0733
IMG_0732
IMG_0734

2 thoughts on “Swatches/Review: Chanel Rouge Allure Laque in 75 Dragon & 77 Santal

  1. Both of the colors are gorgeous!! I love the dragon color, but I can see why it’s annoying. I hate when red lipstick/lipgloss gets everywhere when it isn’t matte.

I'd love to hear your thoughts and comments!

