Review: Cellnique Derma Brightening Complex

This is the third and last Cellnique product I received from them earlier this year. This is overall a very effective product that helped to even out my skintone. If I had to choose a favourite out of the three, I would have to say the Soothing & Hydrating Lotion, just because it helped to calm down my skin, but this one is also really great. Honestly I loved (and still love) all of the Cellnique products I’ve tried. I highly recommend this brand to you! You can read my reviews of other Cellnique products here.

What it claims (from Cellnique.com): Formulated with liposamal Willow Bark Extract and Vitamin C, this strongly-effective yet gentle formulation works excellent on skin discoloration, dull and uneven skin tone, restores skin’s luminous glow without provoking any skin irritation or peeling. Unprecedented clarity radiates from within.

Price: $45USD for 30mL from Cellnique.com

Usage: I used this gel as the second last step of my nightly skincare routine, after Cellnique’s Soothing & Hydrating Lotion and before the Intensive Hydrating Oasis Gel. I use three drops of this on my face and neck.

The good: This is a very good brightening serum that will not dry out your skin! Most brightening serums I’ve tried tends to dry out my already-sensitive skin, making it flaky and uncomfortable, but this does not. It also does a good job at gently brightening my skin without being overly harsh. It contains various acids to gently exfoliate your skin and get rid of dark spots. The result is brighter, more even-looking skin. It also absorbs easily and my skin is smoother as well.

  • Brightens
  • Lightens dark spots
  • Does not dry out the skin (unlike most brightening products)
  • Absorbs easily
  • Skin is smoother and looks more even

The bad: There is a strong, herbal smell to it, but I don’t mind it very much. I would also have preferred if it is in a glass bottle instead of plastic, as I feel the glass will help to better preserve the active ingredients in this serum. The price may also be a little high for some people.

  • Strong smell
  • Plastic bottle
  • Little availability, can only be purchased on their official website
  • Slightly on the expensive side.

Overall: This is a highly effective product to help gently exfoliate and rid your skin of dark spots without drying out the skin. The dropper dispenser format is hygienic and easy to use without wasting product. I would recommend this to anyone who has acne scars that they want to get rid of, or just want to brighten the skin.

  • Product: 18/20
  • Packaging: 3.5/5
  • Value: 4/5
  • Ease of Use: 4/5
  • Overall: 29.5/35 | 84% | A
  • Repurchase? Very likely

Read on for ingredients:

Ingredients:

Purified Water (Aqua), Sodium Hyaluronate, Ethoxydiglycol, Vitamin C (L-Ascorbic Acid), Butylene Glycol, Glycerin, Lactic Acid, Kojic Acid, Polyvinylpyrrolidone (PVP), Hydroxyethyl Cellulose, Diazolidinyl Urea, Methylparaben, Sodium Hydroxide, Propylparaben, Willow (Salix nigra) Bark Extract.

Main Active Ingredients

L-Ascorbic Acid
L-Ascorbic Acid
Effective in inhibiting melanogenesis (process where skin cells produce melanin or pigment) for a brighter skin. It also assists in promoting a firmer skin texture while providing sustained antioxidant protection for the skin.
Kojic Acid
Kojic Acid
A natural ingredient derived from fungus (mushrooms), it works as a whitening agent, helps promote a clear, fresh looking complexion.
Lactic Acid
Lactic Acid
Noted for its rich moisturizing attributes and its ability to exfoliate dead skin cells without provoking skin irritation. It also presents the added benefits as a skin softening agent which makes it an excellent option for sensitive skin.
Willow Bark
Liposomal Willow Bark Extract
Willow bark has been shown to possess anti-microbial properties against Staphylococcus aureus and Propionibacterium acnes, two of the skin flora implicated in the formation of acne. Its Salicylic Acid has been shown to enhance skin cell turnover and general improvement in the appearance of the skin without the risk of irritation. .
sodium hyaluronate
Sodium Hyaluronate
A powerful water-binding agent, able to absorb and hold water up to 1,000 times of its own weight. It is very important in tissue hydration and lubrication. When Hyaluronic Acid is applied on the surface of skin, it forms a permeable layer to keep skin moist and smooth. This protective yet breathable barrier on skin locks in moisture which gives the skin a youthful appearance.
4 thoughts on “Review: Cellnique Derma Brightening Complex

  1. Oh, this sounds lovely! I’ve been using a brightening serum and my skin was fine with it for a while. But suddenly, my skin’s been really quite dry. I’m not sure if it has to do with the change in climate (I moved back to San Diego from San Francisco), but I’m somewhat wary of doing anything to dry my skin.

    I’ll have to look into Cellnique once I begin my job and I am not broke/living on my mother’s money. haha!

  2. Pingback: Favourite Skincare Brands Feature: Cellnique Paramedical « *Maddy Loves

I'd love to hear your thoughts and comments!

