Review: Cellnique Soothing & Hydrating Lotion (loves!)

I received some product for review from Cellnique earlier this year, but because I left for Kingston before the products arrived, I didn’t get to try them until I got back. Here I’m going to review the Soothing & Hydration Lotion, one of my newest favourite products.

What it claims (from Cellnique.com): This unique complex lotion consist 14 types of plant extracts to calm sensitive prone skin. It helps to refresh tired skin and replenish skin moisture – spray anytime you wish to. This is a hypoallergenic formulation excellent for all skin types.

Price: $25USD for 200mL from Cellnique.com

Usage: After washing my face with cleanser and wiping my face with a cotton pad soaked in cleansing lotion, I sprayed my face with this until my face is moist. (from Cellnique.com – Spray all over face as required, excellent for men as an aftershave soothing spritz, ideal to use as facial spritz – refreshes and hydrates the skin for longer lasting makeup or during your freight schedule, it can be used on hair to help soothing and hydration)

The good: I have sensitive skin around my cheeks that becomes red very easily (this is due to my many years of using whitening products that has made my skin thinner than before). This lotion is very soothing for my skin and gets rid of all the redness. It is also very hydrating and absorbs well, also helping the serums that I apply after absorb better as well. The spray mechanism deposits just enough product on my skin evenly and does not waste product either (from liquid dripping down the side of the opening of a regular bottle).

  • Soothing and gets rid of redness
  • Hydrating
  • Absorbs well
  • Spray mechanism works well

The bad: Nothing really… It smells a little like plants/herbs, so if you dislike that you may not like this. It is also a little hard to come by as you can only purchase it from the Cellnique website.

  • The scent may be bothersome to some
  • Little availability, can only be purchased on their official website

Overall: I used to be wary of spray lotions but now I love them. This product is definitely one thing I cannot skip after I wash my face and I fully recommend it to people who need a boost of moisture in the day. I’ve never tried this over makeup though… I wonder what that will feel like.

  • Product: 20/20
  • Packaging: 4.5/5
  • Value: 3.5/5
  • Ease of Use: 4.5/5
  • Overall: 32.5/35 | 93% | A+
  • Repurchase? Yes!

Read more for ingredients:

Ingredients: Purified Water (Aqua), Witch Hazel (Hamamelis virginiana) Extract, Propylene Glycol, Citric Acid, Methol Crystal, Hydrogenated Castor Oil, Mountain Arnica (Arnica montana) Extract, Pot Marigold (Calendula officinalis) Extract, Lemon (Citrus medica limonum) Extract, Ginger (Zingiber officinale) Root Extract, Burdock (Arctium majus) Extract, Rosemary (Rosmarinus officinalis) Extract, Ivy (Hedera helix) Extract, Scots Pine (Pinus sylvestris) Extract, Sage (Salvia officinalis) Flower Extract, Watercress (Nasturtium officinale) Extract, German Chamomile (Chamomilla recutita) Extract, White Deadnettle (Lamium album) Extract, Garden Nasturtium (Tropaeolum majus) Extract, Methylparaben, Propylparaben.

Main Active Ingredients

Plant Extract
14 types of Plant Extracts
Includes Witch hazel, Arnica, Calendula, Lemon, Ginger, Burdock, Rosemary, Ivy, Pine, Safflower, Watercress, Matricaria, White nettle and Capucine. All known to heal and prevent dry skin, treat skin conditions such as acne and eczema, and slow the aging process.
Ginger Root Extract
Ginger Root Extract
The use of ginger on the skin can increase skin’s radiance and decrease inflammation that may contribute to acne and psoriasis. Ginger is an antioxidant, not only does it fights skin-damaging free radicals, but also promotes smoothness and evenness in skin tone.
Witch Hazel Extract
Witch Hazel Extract
A plant extract with toning and astringent properties. It also helps promote healing, reduce inflammation and has anti irritant properties.
4 thoughts on “Review: Cellnique Soothing & Hydrating Lotion (loves!)

  1. Pingback: Favourite Skincare Brands Feature: Cellnique Paramedical « *Maddy Loves

  2. Pingback: Favourite products for 2011! « *Maddy Loves

  3. Pingback: Dermalogica reviews: Ultracalming Cleanser & Multi-Active Toner | *Maddy Loves

I'd love to hear your thoughts and comments!

