Restaurant feature: Grill City Steakhouse @ Montreal, QC

On my trip to Montreal over reading week, I visited Grill City Steakhouse which is a newly opened restaurant in Montreal. Because they are newly opened, I thought to do a short review of them just to generate a little bit more buzz because I do recommend that you go there when you visit Montreal.

Some food photos…

The bread was SO good. It was very crispy and golden on the outside and soft and fluffy on the inside. Probably one of the best bread I’ve ever eaten in Canada. The only off putting thing was that they use those mini plastic containers of butter instead of butter dispensed in a ceramic bowl or something. Usually I don’t really care, but this place was really nicely decorated and it gave off a more higher class feel so ceramic bowl butter would have been more appropriate.

All of the main dishes come with your choice of soup or salad. I had the caesar salad, which I forgot to take a photo of, but the lettuce was crisp and cut into appropriate bite-size pieces, and there was just enough dressing to give that flavour but it didn’t overpower the lettuce, the cheese or the croutons. The croutons were also freshly made and very crispy but not hard.

My friend and I shared two appetizers. The first one was calamari with basil dip. The actual squid was fat and substantial, nothing like those little thin things many restaurants serve, which is good. The batter was on the thick side and the entire thing was kind of greasy, but the basil dip was SO GOOD. I’m a huge fan of basil anything, so I particularly enjoyed smothering my entire piece of calamari with dip.

Next we had the crab cakes. I’ve never actually had real crab cakes before so I can’t really compare this with other ones I’ve had, but overall I enjoyed it. I am a huge fan of crab though and I can tell you this tasted like crab. It was good, but the seasoning could be a little lighter to not overpower the flavour of the crab. It wasn’t greasy or anything though, and it was perfectly cooked and fluffy on the inside.

For my main course, I had the rack of lamb. This was super duper good. It is basically covered with a crust and then fried for a bit for the crust to turn golder and then baked for a bit, and then drizzled with some veal reduction. I like my meat cooked medium rare so that is exactly what I asked for. The lamb was very tender and melt-in-your-mouth. The veal reduction added the right amount of kick to the lamb taste and the crust added a bit more texture.

Overall I recommend this place if you are going to be visiting Montreal. The service was really great that night and the server paid attention to all the small details (like when I added water to my long island ice tea, he asked if I wanted some coke to add to it or to re-make it for me in case I didn’t like it). For the two of us (2 appetizers, 2 mains, 2 alcoholic beverages), it cost $100 exact, which is pretty good considering I chose the most expensive item on the menu.

The location is a little farther from downtown Montreal, but it is very easily accessible by metro as it is located just across the street from a metro station (Henri-Bourassa).

Grill City Steakhouse
500, boul. Henri-Bourassa Est
Montreal, QC, H3L 1C6
514-387-2828

5 thoughts on “Restaurant feature: Grill City Steakhouse @ Montreal, QC

  1. Omg I live near this restaurant! My bf went there with his friend and he says that the lamb chop literally melts in your mouth LOL! He want to bring me there but I didn’t have time yet so now you make me want to go ASAP xD

I'd love to hear your thoughts and comments!

