Review: Skin MD Face, Hand & Body Shielding Lotion

I know I’m a little late in doing this but I’ve just finished testing this package that was mailed to me months and months ago. I was contacted by PR reps at Skin MD who asked if I was interested in trying this product. After checking out their website, I realized I don’t have anything like this in my stash of a million skincare products, so of course I jumped at the opportunity.

What they claim (via SkinMDnatural.com):
Skin MD Natural lotion for dry skin will leave your skin feeling and looking soft, radiant, and hydrated. Skin MD Natural lotion is the natural skin care alternative to the many dry skin care products that can actually dry the skin. Lotions for dry skin that contain petroleum, artificial fragrances, para bens, colorants and other chemicals may cause dry skin to worsen. Avoid dry skin care products with harsh chemicals and use Skin MD Natural lotion for dry skin on the face, hands, or body.

Damage: $18USD for 4oz (120mL) bottle at SkinMDnatural.com (I received this as a PR sample)

The good: The Skin MD Shielding Lotion is a very light, semi-translucent gel-creme that absorbs almost instantly on my skin. I used this mainly on my legs and arms after my nightly showers because usually that is how I can tell how well a moisturizer of any kind performs. I have normal to dry skin on my legs and normal skin on my arms.

The bad: I started out applying a little bit, and then moved on to applying a little more. While I definitely applied the same amount as my previous moisturizers, I felt that this lotion didn’t offer the same amount of hydration as I would usually need. My skin isn’t particularly dry; it doesn’t require that much moisture, which is why I was surprised at what I saw and felt especially because Skin MD claims that this is a lotion appropriate for dry skin. Additionally, it left a little bit of greasy residue on my palms after I applied this lotion to my legs and arms. I then looked on the ingredients list and saw that dimethicone (a type of silicone) is fourth on the list. Personally, I don’t like have any kind of silicone in the products I use, especially one that claims to be all natural, so that definitely lost the most points for this product.

Overall: Personally, I like having a little bit of a greasy feeling on my hands or body whenever I apply a moisturizer because it feels like I applied something there. But the Skin MD Shielding Lotion absorbs so quickly that it doesn’t really feel there. This is definitely just a personal thing, but if you are like me, you will probably not like this lotion as much. On the other hand, if you have normal skin and want a simple, no-frill moisturizer that absorbs quickly with no residue, this is probably a good one to consider.

  • Product: 16/20
  • Value: 3/5
  • Packaging: 3/5
  • Ease of Use: 4/5
  • Overall: 26/35 | B
  • Repurchase? Probably not

2 thoughts on “Review: Skin MD Face, Hand & Body Shielding Lotion

  1. That’s too bad. I actually quite like this moisturizer. There isn’t much immediate effect but after using it for a while, I really did notice a difference in my skin.

I'd love to hear your thoughts and comments!

