Swatches of Estee Lauder Pure Colour Five Colour Eyeshadow in Extravagant Gold

I’ve always kind of excluded Estee Lauder in the past. To me it seemed like they were more of a “mature” brand, like they made products for the older generation. However when photos and swatches of their holiday collection started popping up, I knew I had to have this.

The quality completely blew me away, it was soft, pigmented, but not overly powdery (like some other eyeshadows, such as Urban Decay). I can definitely see myself wearing this over the holidays. The colours are a sheer shimmery white, a shimmery brown, a shimmery bronze, a shimmery gold (true gold!) and a matte dark brown. The colours are very wearable all together and on their own.

You all know how much of a Dior fan I am, so I even surprised myself when I passed off Dior’s 5 Golds palette for this one because it was slightly cooler. You can check out a comparison between Extravagant Gold and 5 Golds on Cafe Makeup. Compared to this, the Dior palette isn’t really that gold, which is kind of a disappointment.

See more swatches & photos:

Swatched from top left in clockwise direction, then centre; first in natural light then flash (swatched over a base of UDPP)

I’ve been going on a gold spree this holiday. A part from this palette, I also got something from NARS, and of course the Sunset Cafe palette I received from Miss Asiyakei which I reviewed here.

7 thoughts on “Swatches of Estee Lauder Pure Colour Five Colour Eyeshadow in Extravagant Gold

  1. Ooo such a pretty palette!!
    There are so many palettes out at the moment with similar shades, it makes it so much harder to choose…I’m waiting for my Shu Uemura Bowwow! set to come 🙂 xxxx

  2. Estee Lauder’s LE edition products always look really pretty and unique in my opinion, and this palette is no exception!

    But other than you, I think this palette looks warmer than the Dior 5 Golds. It definitely looks cooler in the pan than swatched actually.

    Hope you enjoy it a lot, and do share a FOTD with this palette soon, Sheila!

  3. i feel the same too ! EL seems to be more of a ‘old lady brand’ LOL…although i’m trying out their blushes and concealers and hopefully their Advanced Night repair serum at their counters! ❤

    oh yeah, and hi-five at each other for die-hard neutrals XD

  4. Pingback: FOTD + OOTD for CityTV x eBeauty.ca event… green all over! « *Maddy Loves

I'd love to hear your thoughts and comments!

