Review: HadaLabo Super Hyaluronic Acid Lotion

I asked the lovely Kay to help me CP the HadaLabo Super Hyaluronic Acid Lotion from Japan during our recent swap. I had hoped that this product would help to moisturize my skin after my trip which made my skin really dry. I was somewhat disappointed because I had such high hopes for it, even though it does do what it promises.

What it is: A “lotion” in Asia is basically two-in-one product usually used after cleansing to tone and moisturize the skin. You can apply it with a cotton pad or patted on with your hands. I used this both ways, as another step in my cleansing process with a cotton pad, and then patted (more like slapped) on after my whitening essence as a hydrating serum.

What it claims (from Sasa.com): Hadalabo is a newly mutually-developed brands operated by Rohto (Japan) and Mentholatum (USA), with the concept of ‘Perfect & Simpleโ€™. They bring you a series of skincare products with the highest purity of ingredients under strict quality control.ย HadaLabo GOKUJYUN Super Hyaluronic Acid Lotion is infused with super hyaluronic acid which deeply penetrates into skin. It keeps on moisturizing and softening skin, meanwhile enhancing skinโ€™s water-binding ability, leaving skin supple, smooth and radiant. Weak acid, no fragrance, and no colorant.

The damage: Kay bought this for me in Japan, but you can buy this on Sasa.com for $11.20USD

The good: It really does help to moisturize and seal in the moisture. You don’t need a lot to get the full effect, probably less than a quarter-sized amount thats enough for your face, neck and chest. It has the consistency of a thicker, gloppier gel and it spreads very easily. The bottle design is average, I would have preferred a pump but I felt the opening at the top allowed me to dispense the right amount of product.

  • Moisturizes
  • Seals in moisture
  • A little goes a long way
  • Spreads easily

The bad: I felt it left my skin somewhat sticky because it absorbed so slowly. Also because it absorbed so slowly, I felt that it left somewhat of a film on my skin which was uncomfortable.

  • Slow to absorb
  • Left skin somewhat sticky (because so slow to absorb)

Overall: The HadaLabo Super Hyaluronic Acid Lotion is great for providing temporary moisture for the skin. I’m sad to say that it is not enough for my skin in the winter, although it worked fine in the fall and I would assume in the spring as well (it may be too much for the summer because it has such a thick consistency and absorbs so slowly). If you have really dry/dehydrated skin, it wouldn’t hurt to try it, but you may need an additional hydrating serum for better effect.

  • Product: 15/20
  • Value: 5/5
  • Packaging: 4/5
  • Ease of Use: 4/5
  • Overall: 28/35 | 80% | A-
  • Repurchase? Probably not

4 thoughts on “Review: HadaLabo Super Hyaluronic Acid Lotion

  1. Thanks for the review! I’ve always been somewhat intrugued by this product since I’ve seen it featured so many times. I never really had the urge to purchase it because it’s not that easily acessible.

    But thanks again for this review. I might not purchase it now since I don’t like sticky-ness. But maybe I’ll try it one day if I see it sold in person =)

  2. thank you for this review. i’m always on the lookout for moisturizing products! oh, and thank you for hosting the blogger xmas gift exchange! i had fun buying things for my secret santa and i’m super excited to find out who my secret santa is! โค Rina

  3. Pingback: Look breakdown + preparation: Grad photos! « *Maddy Loves

I'd love to hear your thoughts and comments!

