A Travelers Guide to Makeup

In this post, I will attempt to show you how I try to pack for trips. I’m a minimalist when it comes to makeup, as long as it looks clean, I’m good. Also I usually try to travel light, especially because I know I’ll probably be buying a lot of things on the trip (especially if I’m flying, duty free is dangerous!). So here are just some basic things I usually like to travel with.

For base makeup, I bring one bottle of liquid foundation (Bourjois Healthy Mix) and one powder foundation compact (Jill Stuart Moist Silk Powder Foundation). The powder foundation can double as just powder used to set makeup, and also be used on lazy days.

For eye makeup, I just bring one neutral palette (Lunasol Skin Modelling Eyes in 01 Beige Beige). I tend to wear more neutrals than anything else these days, and I find that a neutral palette can be worn either for the day or spiced up for the night. Depending on if I think I’ll be going out at night, I may bring a grey/black smokey palette for that extra kick, otherwise its neutrals all the day.

For cheeks, I bring two blushers (Jill Stuart Mix Blush Compact in 09 Little Bouquet and Rock & Republic Contrived Pressed Blush in Call Me). I like to have one rosy-pink blush with me for night-time looks and one peachy, highlighter blush for daytime wear. They can also be coordinated and worn together, one as the colour the other as the highlight.

For lip products, I bring one peachy gloss (Paul & Joe Lip Gloss G in 04), one red lipstick (Chanel Rouge Allure Laque in 75 Dragon) and one peachy/neutral lipstick (YSL Rouge Volupte in 26 Tender Peach). The peachy lip stuff are for the daytime and I can either wear just lipgloss or lipstick on its own (YSL Rouge Voluptes have a satin, almost gloss finish), or layer on top of each other for extra plumpness. The Dragon Rouge Allure Laque is more for nighttime looks, especially for nice dinners.

I believe that brushes are essential to bring on a trip. I can sacrifice not bringing an additional eye palette and instead bring brushes. Brushes really make or break your look, and they don’t necessarily have to be good brushes, just any brushes. I like to bring a blush brush (top, no idea what brand, was purchased by my dear Macnunu at IMATS), three eye brushes (MAC 239, MAC 226 and a mini flat liner brush from Sasa) and one powder brush (Sonia Kashuk). Eyelash curler is also essential. And of course other things that I promptly forgot to photograph, like eyeliner (MUFE Aqua Eyes) and mascara (Clinique High Impact Curling Mascara).

Everything fits nicely in my Cath Kidston pouch and ready to stuff into a suitcase.

9 thoughts on “A Travelers Guide to Makeup

  1. Very nice! Agree on travel light and duty free! You never know what you will encounter at duty free so no need to bring lots of make-ups hehe xP
    Another shot of the Cath Kidston pouch is surely making me want to get the mook but I shall wait a little bit cuz I’m moving to Tokyo next month!

  2. thanks for sharing your fave picks Sheila! i’m going to pack like this next time when i’m out for travel, i’m thinking of the JS makeup bag that comes with the magazine X_X should have bought it…

    After seeing so many R&R blushes on blogs and forums, i’m having a major lemming now =_=

  3. I love love love that Lunasol palette! I wish I could get Lunasol here but can’t seem to find the brand anywhere! It looks like a great palette for both day and night. I agree on packing light since I too am such a duty free addict (esp. HK airport!)

  4. Pingback: 2010 – Year in Review <3 « *Maddy Loves

  5. I like your Cath Kidston makeup bag. Where did you get it? I liked this post. It’s always nice to see what other people carry with them when they travel. Gives me good ideas and the desire to travel!

  6. Thanks for sharing what you bring while travelling. I tend to over pack, probably not a good idea when there is duty free and amazing makeup in Asia.

I'd love to hear your thoughts and comments!

