THE most amazing skincare product I’ve ever used: AmorePacific Treatment Enzyme Peel

This is a review for the most amazing skincare product I’ve ever used. Its the AmorePacific Treatment Enzyme Peel. I received a deluxe 7 gram sample of this product when I made an order at Sephora.com last summer, but I never got around to trying this until I got back home this summer. There are certain promotions going on for this product right now, so I think it is an amazing opportunity to grab as many as possible.

I am a firm believer that you desperately need a good cleanser in order to have great skin. The cleansing regimen is something that must get rid the dirt and grime that your skin encounters during the day. I have two very important “rules” I follow by when I choose a cleanser:

  1. It must actually clean, as in, there should be nothing left when I go over my face with toner/lotion and a cotton pad.
  2. It must not be drying to my skin or make it feel tight.

Apart from those two rules, I also hope that my cleanser multitasks by helping my skin rid itself of dead cells and promote cell regeneration as well.

The brand: For those of you who aren’t familiar with AmorePacific, it is a brand owned and operated by Amore Pacific, a Korean chemical and cosmetic giant which also owns Laneige, Mamonde, IOPE, Innisfree, Etude, etc. AmorePacific is Amore Pacific’s “luxury line” of skincare, kind of like how Shiseido is the “luxury line” of Shiseido Inc., but they also own other brands like Majolica Majorca and Maquillage.

What it claims (from Sephora.com): AmorePacific Treatment Enzyme Peel is a best-selling, non-abrasive exfoliating formula that delivers radiant, smooth, youthful results for all skin types. Its efficient, water-activated, plant-based enzyme complex works to eliminate debris and toxins and create an instant toning effect. Dead skin cells and congestion in the pores dissolve, reducing the occurrence and appearance of blemishes. The complexion is deeply purified, ready to derive maximal benefits from the rest of your skincare regime. The results are luminous.

What it is & instructions: The Treatment Enzyme Peel is presented as an off-white powder, kind of like baby milk powder (aka baby formula). You need to clean your face first with your normal cleanser before using the Enzyme Peel. With the full size bottle, you tip the entire bottle upside down and a measure amount is deposited into the “reservoir,” which you then pour out into your hands, add lukewarm water, lather and massage on your face for 30-45 seconds, then it is rinsed off. With the sample bottle, I just carefully pour out a pea sized amount into my hands, add water, massage and rinse. (FYI, I have read reviews of people who used less than the suggested amount, but the effect was still the same)

The good: This is an extremely gentle exfoliator, however I don’t think I have ever felt softer skin on my face before. It does not only deep cleanse my skin, leaving nothing left fot toner to pick up, it gets rid of old cells and helps my serums and moisturizer absorb much easier into the skin. I’ve also noticed that my skin is less bumpy, my breakouts are controlled and my pores have shrinked in visibility. Also its never dry, even if I don’t slap on a moisturizer right away after my shower. Because it helps promote cell growth (due to the constant shedding of old cells), over time it will probably help even out my skin tone as well, which is another plus!

  • Very thorough cleansing
  • Not drying
  • Helps absorption of products used after
  • Skin is smoother, breakouts are controlled and pores look smaller
  • Over time, should even out skin tone

The bad: Its probably the most expensive cleanser I’ve ever purchased, especially when comparing the price ($60USD, $65CAD) to how much actual product you get (75 grams). There is also a deep musky, floral scent if you smell the powder directly, but diluted its not as strong (but people who are fragrance-wary should still sample before purchasing, just in case). When I was playing around with the packaging at Holts, I noticed that the “reservoir” mechanism is a little hard to manoevre; most people just prefer to pour it out without using it.

  • Expensive
  • Dispensing “reservoir” difficult to use
  • Scent may be too heavy for some

Overall: If you can’t already tell, I LOVE this product. Its not a real cleanser because you actually have to do some cleaning first beforehand, but its not a real peel because it is so gentle. I would definitely recommend this to anyone, regardless of your skin type or age. This is actually helping me regulate my skin’s oil/water balance as it doesn’t strip my skin of any moisture, unlike a traditional cleanser. The price you pay for this is really high, but considering that with normal, daily usage (if you use a pea-size amount each time), the full size product should last you around 8 months, its really not a bad deal.

Currently Sephora.com is even giving you some more run for your buck. There is a special set available right now that includes a full size Treatment Enzyme Peel, along with deluxe samples of their Treatment Cleansing Foam, Moisture Bound Refreshing Hydra-Gel and Moisture Bound Intensive Vitalizing Eye Complex, for just the price of a full size Treatment Enzyme Peel. This means you will be getting all of those deluxe size samples for free. This is online only though, so available only for a limited time. Sadly, if you are in Canada they do make you pay duty; I had to pay an additional $4.50 for each set I purchased (I bought two!) compared to what I could have paid if I bought it at Holts, but for the extra $4.50 I got all of those other products to try. I think this is probably the best time to go out and grab it as the set makes it really worthwhile.

One last note. Some people have compared this to Dermalogica Daily Microexfoliant. I have never tried the Daily Microexfoliant, so sadly I can’t do a comparison for you. You can read reviews on MakeupAlley of the Daily Microexfoliant and the Treatment Enzyme Peel.

  • Product: 20/20
  • Value: 4/5
  • Packaging: 3/5
  • Ease of Use: 4/5
  • Overall: 31/35 | 89% | A
  • Repurchase: Yes
  • Availability: Holt Renfrew in Vancouver and Toronto Bloor St., Bergdorf Goodman NY, Neiman Marcus, Sephora (online)

This is how much is left after about 5 usages.

3 thoughts on “THE most amazing skincare product I’ve ever used: AmorePacific Treatment Enzyme Peel

  1. Pingback: Favourite Skincare Brands Feature: AmorePacific « *Maddy Loves

I'd love to hear your thoughts and comments!

