Review/Swatch: Sunplay Skin Aqua Silky BB Cream

Sunplay Skin Aqua Silky BB Cream

I bought this BB cream because I had heard so many things about it from Yumeko and Kathi. Yumeko tried out the Silky version, which is has better oil control, and Kathi tried the Moist version, which has better hydration for drier skin. Since its summer, I decided to try out the Silky version.

What it is: BB cream is like another version of foundation or tinted moisturizer. You can find various types of BB cream all over Asia although Western brands such as MAC and Lancome have also released their own version just recently. They are usually somewhat thicker than a foundation or tinted moisturizer, but shade selection is extremely limited as most companies only release one or two shades for each type of BB cream.

Sunplay Skin Aqua Silky BB Cream

Damage: Approximately $16-17 CAD at Watsons in Hong Kong

Instructions: You would apply BB cream like your foundation or tinted moisturizer, but unlike foundation, BB creams are thicker and would probably benefit from applying it with your fingers so the heat from your fingers can help it melt better into your skin.

Sunplay Skin Aqua Silky BB Cream

The good: Oil control is fantastic. I’ve tried a few BB creams (like my current fave the Missha Perfect Cover) and oil control is very mediocre. But with this, under normal circumstances (ie. not crazy humid or hot) I actually don’t have to blot until 4-5 hours later, or sometimes even at all during the day if the climate is favourable. Coverage is pretty natural and it evens out my skin tone nicely. It does a good job at covering my blemishes and pores without looking cakey or requiring too thick a layer. It dries down to a nice matte finish with a little bit of a soft-focus look. This also has SPF 25 PA++ which means you get adequate sun protection along with your nice coverage.

  • Good pore and blemish coverage (medium coverage)
  • Good oil control
  • Dries matte
  • Sun protection of SPF 25 PA++

Sunplay Skin Aqua Silky BB Cream

The bad: Like all BB creams, the colour match is a bit off at the beginning. I feel for this specific shade, if you’re any more than NC 30 you won’t be able to wear it. Thankfully for me it blended in well into my skin for a sort-of okay match after a few hours. It is also a little bit dry and harder to blend, so if you have anything less than a combination skin, you would probably want to try out the Moist version instead.

  • Harder to blend
  • Drier, better for combination or oily skin
  • Limited shade availability

Overall: I really like this product. I think it is perfect if you tend to get shiny quickly during the day. I would definitely recommend this to those of you living in the Asia-Pacific where it is humid in the summer and a regular BB cream or foundation just isn’t working for you. As for those of you in drier/colder climates, this isn’t really a must-have for you unless you are super oily. Additionally, I don’t know if this is the BB cream or what because I haven’t really changed up my skincare routine, but I’ve noticed my skin is smoother lately and its easier to maintain. It could be the climate change since I’m in another city now that is more up north and drier, but I just wanted to put this out there that maybe smoother skin is another good thing about this BB cream (I mean, its supposed to have skincare benefits right?)

  • Product: 9/10
  • Packaging: 4/5
  • Value: 4/5
  • Ease of Use: 3.5/5
  • Overall: 21/25 | 84% | B+
  • Repurchase: Yes, quite likely if I can find it

Sunplay Skin Aqua Silky BB Cream

    10 thoughts on “Review/Swatch: Sunplay Skin Aqua Silky BB Cream

      • OMG I’m so jealous you’re in HK right now!! You should def get one, its a really good and natural-looking alternative to foundation and it has sunscreen in it.

        I love sasa, they also offer 5% discount for students!

    1. Seems like this shade matches you pretty well. It doesn’t seem too heavy 🙂 I love BB creams. I’m currently sampling a bunch of different kinds and I can’t believe there is such a big difference in all of them :p

    2. Pingback: Review/Swatch: Sunkiller Perfect Strong BB Cream SPF50+ PA+++ | Maddy Loves

    I'd love to hear your thoughts and comments!

    