Review: My Beauty Diary Mixed Berry Mask & more pics of Hogwarts (aka Herstmonceux Castle)!

My skin has become really sensitive over the past few days due to travelling and trying to settle into a new country 9000 km away from home. I’ve been trying to do my best to take care of it, but sometimes it just doesn’t turn out the way you want it to. Plus the problem with my cleanser, *sigh*, just made everything worse. So I took out the My Beauty Diary Mixed Berry Mask to try and make my skin feel better.

The Mixed Berry mask is from the second generation of MBD masks and is one of the newer ones (in comparison with something like Pearl Powder). It claims to make your skintone more even in colour, as well as tighten the skin. It is advertised to be good with any skin type, but recommended for skin with uneven tones and saggy skin (lol).

The first thing I noticed when I took it out of its little packaging is the smell. It has a very fake, berry smell to it, like fruit punch. I really don’t like this smell, especially because I was feeling kind of sick and tired at the time I was using it, the scent didn’t help my feelings. It somewhat starts to go away after you leave it on long enough, but its still not something I would prefer (you can probably tell by my previous mask reviews that I’m really picky about the smell, hehe).

The second thing I noticed is what this sheet mask is slightly thinner than the previous My Beauty Diary masks that I’ve tried. The other ones from the first generation are all quite thick and heavy, but this one is more transparent and sticks a little better. I like this as I don’t have to worry about it falling off my face, or certain parts of it not sticking. However, as with all MBD masks, they are too wide for my face which is a total dislike.

(crazy mask pic)

After a good 25 minutes, I removed the mask to reveal calmer skin. My face is not as red and blotchy as before and it feels nice and hydrated. I finished off with some Biotherm Aquasource gel and it felt enough for the night. After about 10 minutes, everything seemed very nicely absorbed with no greasy residue or anything and my skin has pretty much gone back to normal with a nice glow too. I knew using a sheet mask tonight was a good choice, hehe.

Would I repurchase? YES. Just a simple mask calmed my skin down. It absorbed so easily and the splotchiness of my skin is pretty much all gone. My only problem with it is the smell… It is also quite inexpensive, priced around $3-4 for a box of 2 and $7-20 for a box of 10 (disparity due to purchase location).

My score:     I took a heart off for the smell.

Wow, I am on a roll. I’ve been doing a ton of reviews this week. They’ll be more to come too, hehe.

Here are more pictures of Herstmonceux Castle (aka Hogwarts), hehe

Looking out into the courtyard.

The corridor with all the classrooms.

Sheep!!

Side view of castle =)

2 thoughts on “Review: My Beauty Diary Mixed Berry Mask & more pics of Hogwarts (aka Herstmonceux Castle)!

I'd love to hear your thoughts and comments!

