Review: MAC Zoom Lash Mascara

Today, I will be doing a review of MAC Zoom Lash Mascara. I received this sample tube as a free sample when I bought the MAC Volcanic Ash Exfoliator a few weeks ago. You can read my review of it here.

This is a volumizing and curling mascara. You can see from the space between the brush bristles that it should be pretty volumizing, however I wasn’t so sure about the curling power as the brush doesn’t very well compare to my HG mascara, the Diorshow Iconic.

I tested out this mascara will bare lashes, no primer, no curl, nothing.

This is after one coat. You can see that there is some curl and a little bit of volume, but it is not anything too exciting. I only applied the mascara to my top lashes.

There was some clumping. I usually comb my lashes after applying mascara, but I didn’t this time to show you the full effect.

There is very little lengthening effect. Even though this is a volumizing mascara, I would still expect it to lengthen my lashes, even by a little bit. This was somewhat disappointing.

This is after two coats. You can see that there is more curl and a lot more volume.

The down side? It clumped like crazy! I had a feeling that even after I combed it out, it would still look clumpy.

Length-wise, about the same as it was after one coat.

Overall, I was not a big fan of this mascara. It claimed to be smudge free, but after about an hour of wear, it started to tranfer to my undereye. While it does curl and offer some volume, there is just too much to give up for those effects, such as clumping and no length. It was relatively easy to remove though, with some simple oil cleanser.

I am sorry to say that I will not be buying this mascara full size as it just doesn’t measure up anymore to Diorshow Iconic.

P.S. I ended up also grabbing the MAC Volcanic Ash Mask as I went on a mask frenzy over the weekend. Once I receive it and try it out, I’ll do a review of it. In the meantime, if you’re interested in buying it, you should quickly read over people’s reviews about it because it is a Limited Edition item so once it sells out, its gone for good until they decide to re-release it.

4 thoughts on “Review: MAC Zoom Lash Mascara

  1. You are going to love the Volcanic Ash Thermal Mask! I bought 6. :$ I know a bit excessive, but it’s doing wonderful things to my skin.

    I have this mascara and find it’s ok, but it could be better. I think the wand is too big for smaller eyes.

  2. Hi Christy,

    6 isn’t excessive when it is limited edition AND does wonders for your skin.

    I definitely agree that the mascara wand is too big for small eyes, I would never be able to use it for my lower lashes.

    Thanks for your comment!

I'd love to hear your thoughts and comments!

