Review: Ren No. 1 Purity Cleansing Balm

IMG_8235

I finished up my bottle of Guerlain Secret de Purete Cleansing Milk a few weeks ago and I’ve been on the lookout for a “weekend cleanser.” I use Shu Uemura cleansing oil and weekdays to get rid of makeup, but on weekends I like to use a more emollient, more luxurious cleanser to give myself a mini-facial (and also because cleansing oils can be stripping). I wear sunscreen on weekends mostly so I don’t need a heavy makeup remover product, just something that can clean off my sunscreen and help restore my skin for another week of stress/work.

On my way home from work, I walk through a Sephora. I’ve had my eyes on the Ren No. 1 Purity Cleansing Balm since falling in love with the Ren Rose 012 Ultra-Moisture Defense Serum. You use this balm like you would a cleansing oil, cleaning milk, or cleansing cream – rub it on dry skin with dry hands. I’ve used it for a few weeks and am seriously in love!

My skin profile: I have very dehydrated cheeks with a t-zone that gets oily. I occasionally get break-outs, usually 1-2 around that time of the month. My main skin concerns are hyper-pigmentation and dehydration in the cheek area and fine lines in the eye area. My ideal skincare products are ones that provide good moisture to my skin, absorb quickly and leave no left-over product sitting on top of my skin.

What it claims (from RenSkincare.com): A luxurious silky rose infused cleansing balm. When applied with water the balm transforms into a rich milk and leaves skin purified, calm and glowing… It gently yet thoroughly melts away dirt and make up (including waterproof mascara).

Results:

  • Calms, soothes and purifies
  • Protects the skin’s defense barrier against everyday environmental stress, free radicals and pollution

Price: $56 CAD / $48 USD for 150mL

Texture/Scent: Solid balm that melts into a thick oil upon warming it between the palms. Faint rose-floral scent.

IMG_8234

The good: I use this cleanser as the pre-cleanse/suncreen remover on weekends when I have more time to massage my skin. This is an ultra luxurious product that is excellent at removing every last bit of makeup, grime, dust and anything else from the skin; when I run my toner-soaked cotton pad on my skin afterwards, it is completely clean. It feels amazing while being massaged on the face and my skin feels super soft and smooth after washing this off. The scent is great for using before bed – it helps calm me down and relax at the end of the day.

  • Cleanses really well without stripping
  • Ultra-luxurious feel when using it
  • Skin is soft and smooth
  • Smells great

The bad: If I use this alone and without the muslin cloth that’s included in the package, I find that it leaves a greasy film on my skin. I just do my normal thing and use a foaming cleanser after though, and that gets rid of any greasy feeling. If I use the muslin cloth then it comes right off (I don’t like using the muslin cloth too regularly because I find it to be too exfoliating). It is also pretty expensive at $56 CAD for just 150. I found that I’m going through this pretty quickly because I like to spend some time massaging this on my skin, so I need more product than if you were just removing makeup (to prevent it from drying out on my skin). For the price though, I would have loved to see glass packaging instead of plastic, but it’s not a dealbreaker.

  • Leaves greasy film on skin if the muslin cloth isn’t used
  • Very expensive

Overall: I love this product for the fact that it leaves my skin SO clean without any stripped feeling. I also love the scent – I feel like I am giving myself a luxurious facial whenever I use this. I think if you can get over the high price, I would recommend this product for everyone.

Product: 19/20
Packaging: 3/5
Value: 2/5
Overall: 24/30 | A-
Repurchase? Yes!

Ingredients:

IMG_8290
IMG_8253

3 thoughts on “Review: Ren No. 1 Purity Cleansing Balm

  1. This product sounds amazing, although your right about the price:product ratio being a bit stingy! I guess it’s ok if you’re only it for the weekends? I love how the second ingredient is almond oil!

Show me some love!

