Review: Tatcha Supple Moisture Rich Silk Cream

IMG_6718
It’s no secret that I love Asian skincare products. One of my favourite skincare brands is AmorePacific, which is Korean. Today I would like to share with you a brand that is inspired by Japanese Geisha beauty routines, Tatcha.

My skin profile: I have very dehydrated cheeks with a t-zone that gets oily. I occasionally get break-outs, usually 1-2 around that time of the month. My main skin concerns are hyper-pigmentation and dehydration in the cheek area and fine lines in the eye area. My ideal skincare products are ones that provide good moisture to my skin, absorb quickly and leave no left-over product sitting on top of my skin.

What it claims (from Tatcha.com):

What it is:
Luxurious yet weightless feeling gel-cream of liquid silk, squalane, royal jelly + HADASEI-3 Bioactive Complex.

Why it’s different:
Long-lasting anti-aging moisturizer without heavy oils.

Who it’s for:
Ideal for oily and normal/combination skin. Non-irritating. Non-sensitizing.

Price: $150 USD for 50mL

Texture/Scent: Light gel cream, slightly powdery scent

IMG_6715

The good: This product absorbs really quickly and although it is light, it is moisturizing. When I use this at night, I wake up with super smooth and soft skin. I find it works really well to seal in everything I use before it without being heavy. I also like how it is just lightly scented so not to overwhelm the senses before a good night’s sleep. The packaging is gorgeous, as you can see in my photos. It is packaged well enough to give as a gift. It also comes with a spatula but I don’t like using it so I just use my fingers.

  • Absorbs quickly
  • Moisturizing
  • Skin becomes super soft and smooth
  • Seals all the other products in
  • Lightly scented
  • Beautiful packaging

The bad: The price is really high but on par with other luxury skincare products. I also wish it would come to Canada because otherwise the distribution is extremely limited.

  • High price
  • Limited distribution

Overall: I really like this moisturizer. At first I was a little underwhelmed, especially after reading so many good reviews about it, but after a few nights of using this I started waking up with really smooth and supple skin. I finally realized why there was so much hype because this product really is that good. It’s moisturizing without being heavy and it really does help to seal in the natural moisture of my skin as well as everything else that I put on top of it. A wonderful bonus that it is packaged in such a beautiful jar. I agree that it is best for oily or normal/combination skin types. If you have normal or dehydrated-combination skin, you will need to use a serum underneath this to get the full benefits. You can also use this as a makeup primer, which is an added bonus. While I’ve never tried to use it as a primer, other reviewer have said that they’ve had good experiences with it used a primer.

Product: 17/20
Packaging: 4/5
Value: 3/5
Overall: 24/30 | B+
Repurchase? Yes

Ingredients:

IMG_6701
IMG_6720
IMG_6697
IMG_6704
IMG_6705
IMG_6706

3 thoughts on “Review: Tatcha Supple Moisture Rich Silk Cream

  1. Have you tried Prescriptives Comfort Cream? I swear by the product (my skin is similar to yours based on your description), and it’s about 40% of Tatcha’s silk cream. I’ve been wanting to “branch out” and try Tatcha’s silk cream but can’t justify spending $150 on a jar when the comfort cream has worked so well on me. It leaves my skin velvety soft without any shininess, oiliness, or heaviness.

Show me some love!

