Review: Rachel K CC Cream Blemish Balm… one of the best I’ve tried!

IMG_6584
Rachel K CC Cream is the original CC cream and according to their press-release, they also provide the formula to help Chanel with the development of their CC cream. It comes in two shades: original and neutral. Original is pink-toned and neutral is, well, neutral.

IMG_6589

What it claims (from Rachel K Cosmetics website): CC Cream is a much more refined and improved BB cream which combines various benefits all in one – color control, oil control, whitening, brightening, moisturizing and UV protection with SPF 35 PA ++. It enhances our complexion by improving its texture, balancing skin tone and brings forth the quality of real skin – dewy, fresh, elastic and with a glow. The end effect is a flawless, non oily (matte) and radiant complexion.

Price: $32 USD for 30mL

Texture/Scent: Whipped gel texture, scent free

[Original on left, neutral on right]

IMG_6623

The good: This product goes on really smoothly, does not require much effort to blend and sinks into my skin quickly. The neutral is good match for my NC25 skintone. The coverage is light to medium and it is buildable. The texture is very interesting as it is like a whipped gel which makes it super lightweight. It dries down to a semi-matte finish with a bit of a natural glow.

  • Goes on smoothly, easy to blend, sinks in quickly
  • Good match for my skin
  • Coverage is light to medium
  • Buildable
  • Lightweight
  • Dries down to semi-matte with a bit of a glow

The bad: Oil control is not too great, even when I set it with powder. My nose area starts to oil-up about 3 hours after application. There are only two shades, neutral or original, both of which are very light. Also it is very hard to find as you can only buy it online or in Singapore.

  • Oil control not good
  • Limited number of shades
  • Limited distribution/availability for purchase

Overall: This is probably one of the BEST base products I’ve ever tried. It is completely weightless as I cannot feel anything on my face, even with a light-to-medium coverage. It dries down to the kind of finish I like and it looks completely natural too. I’ve been wearing it in the shade neutral every day since I received it and I don’t plan on stopping until I finish the tube.

Product: 18/20
Packaging: 4/5
Value: 4/5
Overall: 26/30 | A
Repurchase? Likely

Ingredients:
IMG_6590

3 thoughts on “Review: Rachel K CC Cream Blemish Balm… one of the best I’ve tried!

  1. I think I read about CC cream on a Singaporean blog awhile ago. The formula sounds really nice but the website says it’s $39 for the product? Not a fan of the price but I bet it’s nothing compared to how much Chanel will be charging for their CC cream… eep!

Show me some love!

