Erno Lazslo “Splashing” Technique and Quick Skincare Reviews: Erno Laszlo Active pHelityl Oil, Active pHelityl Soap & Sea Mud Soap

If you didn’t see my last post about Erno Laszlo, you can see my short introduction of the brand here.

Erno Laszlo has developed a cleansing ritual that is called the Splashing Technique…

I tried the Splashing Technique once and I wasn’t exactly impressed with it. It was just too troublesome and at night, I prefer to do my face-washing in the shower. After one time, I didn’t see much results so I can’t really comment. I did find that using the facial soaps in the shower yielded pretty good results so I won’t be looking back.

Erno Laszlo Active pHelityl Oil

  • Texture: Light oil
  • Scent: Fresh
  • Effect: Couldn’t really feel like this did anything, doesn’t emulsify
  • Price: $49CAD/$40USD for 200mL
  • Overall: This oil is meant to be a pre-cleanse like other cleansing oils. It is supposed to remove makeup and dirt from the skin. I didn’t like this oil because I felt like 1) it didn’t rinse off completely, rather leaving a thin film of oil on my face, and 2) it just didn’t do anything, I didn’t notice a difference in my skin with or without using this oil. It also doesn’t emulsify, so it is a little harder to rinse off.

Erno Laszlo Active pHelityl Soap

  • Texture: Lathers up into a slightly slipper
  • Scent: Slightly fresh and floral
  • Effect: Cleanses surface greasy and dirt but is slightly drying
  • Price: $49CAD/$40USD for 180 grams
  • Overall: I am on the fence about this soap; it does clean well but it I found it slightly stripping. I also found it takes a bit more splashing to rinse off completely. I like, but do not like as much as the Sea Mud Soap.

Erno Laszlo Sea Mud Soap

  • Texture: Lathers up into a bubbly creamsome black gritty charcoal exfoliants
  • Scent: Smells fresh, like sea mud
  • Effect: Deep cleanses without drying-out skin
  • Price: $49CAD/$40USD for 180 grams
  • Overall: I LOVE THIS CLEANSER! I think I just found another HG-worthy cleanser to replace my AmorePacific Treatment Enzyme Peel. It cleanses very, very well without leaving my face dry, tight, or stripped. After a week or so of daily use (at night), I felt my pores were being cleaned out, blackheads and pores shrinking. I went out and bought the full-size soap which should last me about 8-10 months with daily use. I recommend this soap for anyone who does not have super dry skin; f you have dry-combination to oily skin, this is the cleanser for you!
I'd love to hear your thoughts and comments!

